top of page
logo BG.jpg
  • Writer's pictureMurk Monst3r

AGE IN GAMING - FATHERS DAY SPECIAL



Recently during one of @itsHapa custom rebirth lobbies I met @JokrMeta as a random squad mate. In pre-game we were chatting and the topic of our age came up. Like many older gamers and streamers I was reluctant to disclose my exact age because of stigmas that exist in the space today. So without disclosing our respective ages outright the conversation went something like this:


" I bet I have more grey hair then you"

"When you go to bed at night feeling fine, do you wake up the next morning with something hurting?"

"Is it possible for you to be a grandparent?"

This next question is one that all gamers can relate to on a universal level.

"What was your first gaming console?"



The cool part about both of @JokrMeta & my answer to this was we both said the Atari 2600.


I can hear this question echoing in the multiverse millions of times over. For some the answer could have been the Nintendo NES or Sega Genesis. Perhaps even the original Xbox or PlayStation. Whatever the answer is one thing is certain and that is time travel is possible. Instantly our minds whisk us back to a simpler time in life filled with fond memories of our initial interactions with a digital gaming interface as those first drops of dopamine were getting absorbed.

So what current ages correspond with different "First gaming consoles" throughout the years?



The Magnavox Odyssey

Released in 1972

Current age of Gamer: 49-60 yo



Atari 2600 & Commodore 64

Released in Early 1980's

Current age of Gamer: 39-49 yo



Nintendo NES & Sega Genesis (Mega Drive in UK & EU)

Released in Mid to late 1980's

Current age of Gamer: 34-45



Original PlayStation

Released in 1995

Current age of Gamer: 27-34 yo



First Generation Xbox:

Released in 2001

Current age of Gamer: 21-27



Any other Generations of PlayStation & Xbox consoles put you in the 5-21 yo range.

So why does this age stigma exist in the first place? Simply because most online gamers currently fall between the 18-34 yo spectrum and it's fun for them to rag on someone's age in the gaming banter with slurs like "Boomer or Grandpa” On the opposite side of age stigma is

one of the most successful older streamers of all time Dr. Disrespect. Although many of us as of late have lost "respect" for him because of his relationship with ZLamer. The fact remains he has overcome this age deficit by way of personality, stream production quality and gaming ability. Also he dishes the war of age banter right back at what he refers to as “Blonde banged, chubby cheeked kids" as he punishes them for peeking with a sick sniper headshot!

As I reflect while writing this article, I can still feel myself sitting in front of the old tube style television mesmerized by the fun I was having playing titles like Space Invaders and my favourite Pac-Man. Most importantly the bonding moments I shared with my father who took the time to play with me and has sadly passed away this year. I have so much fun with my kids playing video games and the competitiveness I have with my 14yo is unmatched by any CDL tournament I've ever seen.

The dichotomy of age in gaming is something that should be taken lightly and enjoyed as the current generation of young gamers would never have this space if it weren't trail blazed by my older generation and my older generation of gamers would never have their childhood imagination dreams of what games could evolve into if it wasn't for the support of younger gamers and game developers.


Happy Fathers Day to all and give your Dad a hug because life is too short.


Happy Gaming- Murk Monst3r


Thank you for being here.


Thank you for being here and supporting the BBB Gaming News brand further by using our website, keep an eye out for all upcoming news!


Over and out!

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page